On Air Now More FM Workday Kick off 9:00am - 11:55am
Now Playing America A Horse With No Name

Ontario's Four Major Teachers Unions to Strike Today

Almost 200,000 teachers will hit picket lines across Ontario today.

The Elementary Teachers' Federation of Ontario (ETFO), the Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation (OSSTF), the Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association (OECTA), and Association des Enseignantes et des Enseignants Franco-Ontariens (AEFO) will strike.

The four major teachers unions will walk off the job on the same day, for the first time since 1997.

This will affect nearly 5,000 schools across 72 school boards; including the District School Board of Niagara and the Niagara Catholic District School Board.

The Ontario English Catholic Teachers Association will also start rotating strike action next week.

Niagara Catholic schools will be closed on Monday.

More from Local News